While useless to a mage, burned out stones can still yield a single psionic power point to a psionic character in 3rd and 3. In the original Jack Vance stories Ioun stones are highly prized by arch-magicians, and are acquired from a race known as the archveults, who mine them from remnants of dead stars in his book Rhialto the Marvellous. Dragon featured an article that included many dozens of new types of ioun stone,  as well as an article about an elemental lord who hoards ioun stones on his home plane of radiance. Folklore and mythology[ edit ] The Carpet of Flying is based upon Magic Carpets, which originate in Persian myths and were popularized in media through Arabian Nights and other adaptations.
|Published (Last):||1 January 2017|
|PDF File Size:||17.27 Mb|
|ePub File Size:||20.33 Mb|
|Price:||Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]|
I still have my notes on it somewhere, but essentially what I did was take the statblock of the base critter and the swarm statblock and found the common denominators. Then I reversed the process with the statblock for the stirge. An edited version will be showing up in the next Oerth Journal. May 15, , pm My problem with the swarm subtype is the ambiguity of the rules.
Why does a swarm of bats have 3 HD while a swarm of centipedes has 9 HD? Why does the swarm get the size modifier to AC based on the individual creature?
Take a spider swarm as an example. May 15, , pm The only answer I can provide is a crappy one. Swarms are foggy like that. May 15, , pm Hagen wrote: My problem with the swarm subtype is the ambiguity of the rules. What good is the AC to a spider swarm? It is immune to damage. The only thing that really affects it is AoE damage -- in which case AC is irrelevant. You might just think about it more in terms of how much damage the swarm can take before it disperses and moves on.
Maybe bats are smart enough to move on after 3 HD worth of damage. Just guessing here. A hit deals direct damage to the target, and splash damage to all creatures within 5 ft. You can instead target a specified grid intersection. Treat this as a ranged attack against AC 5. However, if you target a grid intersection, creatures in all adjacent squares are dealt the splash damage, and the direct hit damage is not dealt to any creature.
Monstrous Manual, page A lit lantern can be used as a thrown weapon, dealing 1d4 points of fire damage to all creatures in squares adjacent to where it breaks. If that CR 1 spider swarm has a touch AC of 17, that is far from an easy hit. However, according to page in the Monstrous Manual, a lit lantern deals more damage than alchemist fire. This is where I get confused. What about the lantern itself? Is it reuseable after the attack? If you aim it at the swarm do you need to get that AC 17 or AC 5?
I like the idea of swarms, but I wish whoever came up with them had explained things a bit clearer. May 15, , pm I would assume that the lantern would have to break open in order to spread the lit oil to do damage.
That having been said, it would make more sense to be and seem to be more consistant to say that the lantern does 1d4 on a direct hit, 1 on a splash hit or if its thrown at a square instead of at the creature in question. I understand what you are saying and you bring up some good points. This is how I would deal with it For creatures that are immune to damage from weapons and such, the AC is there if needed to actually hit one of the creatures in the swarm.
Most of the time this is silly as you are not trying to hit one creature but the swarm as a unit. For this reason I would generally say that you were trying to hit the square that the swarm is found in. The description says "where it breaks", so, no, you cannot use the lantern again.
It could do 1 point of splash damage to an adjacent swarm if there was one. The fire does stay on the ground and so if the swarm moves through the square it would take damage. I hope that this helps.